SharePoint Security Sync replicates Dynamics 365 CRM user’s security privileges in SharePoint.
The Read/Write Privileges assigned to a user based on the security roles assigned to them in Dynamics 365 CRM will be replicated and appropriately assigned for users in SharePoint as well to control their access and operations that they can perform on folder in SharePoint.
Let us take a couple of examples here to understand this better.
This user only has “read” access to “Account” in CRM.
Upon syncing of the privileges to SharePoint, this user will not be allowed to perform any operation on SharePoint such as upload, rename or create a new folder.
SharePoint Site –
When they login to SharePoint or even access the native OOB SharePoint Document tab, they will not be allowed to perform any of those operations.
SharePoint Security Sync
And the button for performing any of the editing operations on the files/folders within SharePoint will also be disabled from this screen.
This user has “Read” and “Write “access to “Account” in CRM.
Upon syncing of the privileges to the folders in SharePoint, this user will be able to perform all operations there.
SharePoint Security Sync:
And they have the full view of our UI with the ability to perform all the operations.